Sunday, August 18, 2013

The Troop [Book Review]

Genre - Horror
Year Published - 2014 (Jan 7th)
Length - 352 (print) pages
Written by Nick Cutter

Rating: 5 Skulls

Plot Summary:
Boy Scouts live by the motto "Be Prepared". However, nothing can prepare this group of young boys and their scoutmaster for what they encounter on a small, deserted island, as they settle down for a weekend of campfires, merit badges, and survival lessons.

Everything changes when a haggard stranger, in tattered clothing, appears out of nowhere and collapses on the camper's doorstep.
Before the night is through, this stranger will end up infecting one of the troop's own with a bioengineered horror that is straight out of their worst nightmares.
Now stranded on the island, with no communication to the outside world, the troop learns to battle much more than the elements, as they are pitted against something nature never intended. . .
and eventually each other.

Review:
"It begins like a campfire story: five boys and a grownup went into the woods...
It ends in madness and murder!"

If you read my G+ profile, earlier last week, then you already know that I am calling this "one of the best books that you will read, next year - if not the best!"
(on G+, I posted the release date as Jan. 14th, but it is actually going to be a week earlier - Jan 7th, so mark your calendars now, as you don't want to miss this one!)

One of the blurbs about the book states, "Lord of the Flies meets The Ruins..."
This is an accurate quote, so if you enjoyed either of those books, you will definitely enjoy this one!
I would also say that if you enjoy old-scool, "splatter-punk" horror (in the tradition of John Skipp & Craig Spector) then you will love this book as well!

This book is terrifying, not only due to the fact of its plausibility, but also because what is happening in the book is happening to a group of 14-year-old boys.

Cutter does an excellent job keeping you side-tracked from the main storyline, by building up each of the characteristics & personalities of the young boys. This is critical, as the story nears its climax.

I very much want to talk about what happens in the book - the cause behind what happens, however I feel it is in everyone's best interest that you discover the reason on your own. Though do come back here, in January, and feel free to discuss in the comments!

I'll say it once more - if this isn't the best book of 2014, I can almost guarantee that it will be in the top 3!

Jason

2 comments:

thebonebreaker said...

Note: As an experiment, this review was written & posted using my Samsung Galaxy Note 2 phone, using the "Blogger" App.

J

Charlie said...

Cool!