Monday, June 20, 2016

A Facet for the Gem - The Tale of Eaglefriend: Book One [Book Review]

Genre - Fantasy
Year Published - 2016
Length - 274 (digital) pages
Written by C. L. Murray

Rating: 5 Skulls

Plot Summary:
In a land of eagle-riding knights, bloodthirsty beasts, and a ruthless prince, no border is safe for long.

As smoke billows from the only blockade standing between the great city of Korindelf and certain doom, young Morlen races to escape the inevitable siege. Thrust from the chaos with thousands of snapping jaws on his trail, he discovers that the abilities he’s buried all his life are awakening - and it could not have happened at a worse time. War has come, and he doesn’t dare rely on his untested talents after stealing the coveted Goldshard, which makes strength and invincibility just a panicked whisper away. His dependency on it carries him through many dangers, until it becomes an enemy far worse than those he must fight hand-to-hand. And the allies he meets on his quest are just as troubled: a legendary warrior too afraid to leave his sheltered paradise, a wizard tormented by his past, and a disgraced king who has lost any hope of saving his people.

A Facet for the Gem brings Morlen from distant kingdoms to sprawling airborne battles, into the fiery breath of a stony dragon, and side-by-side with a lady knight who is the last person in need of rescue. Follow him as his epic adventures culminate in a final showdown against swords, fangs, and greatest of all: his own fear.

I first have to give kudos to Murray for his superb world-building skills. It is no easy feat for a reader to jump from one world into another. (The book that I read before this one was Hill's 'The Fireman', and I was completely immersed within that story...) However, Murray immediately sucked me into the world that he has created, and I never once looked back!

With names such as Morlen, Felkoth, Nottleforf, and Roftome, and items such as the Goldshard, the Crystal Spear, and the Dark Blade, and enemies known as Shriekers and Ferotaurs, you are immediately thrust into this superb fantasy tale!

Beginning with a fragile alliance between the city of Korindelf and Veldere, where the Eaglemasters reside, and with war brewing along their borders, you have no choice but to hold on for the ride!

If you are a fan of fantasy, then this one is a must-read! If you are a fan of Robin Hobb, then I suggest that you give Murray a shot, as there were some similarities, before Murray completely made it all his own. And for fans of Terry Goodkind, Murray explains the title of the book, brilliantly, just like one of Goodkind's "Wizard's Rules".

Murray dropped several hints, within this story, where he will take us in future books, and I for one am looking forward to the next book!


Friday, June 10, 2016

The Fireman

Wow! What an amazing book!
A fantastic concept - brilliant from beginning to end!
This is one of those books where you hate that it had to end.

Joe Hill has always been a fantasic storyteller, but this book is basically his 'The Stand' - exceptional in every way! [Stephen King has got to be one proud father!]

Speaking of fathers - if your father enjoys a great book, and you haven't yet purchased a Father's Day gift, then this is a guaranteed good one!